Discover 7 Facts About the New Lagos Red Line Rail (Phase 1)

Published Categorized as Cars No Comments on Discover 7 Facts About the New Lagos Red Line Rail (Phase 1)
Here Are 7 Things To Know About The Newly Commissioned Lagos Red Line Rail (Phase 1)

The newly commissioned Lagos Red Line Rail, marking the first phase of the 37-kilometre project, was inaugurated by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu on Thursday, February 29th. Here are seven essential aspects of this significant development:

1. Red Line Route: The Lagos Rail Mass Transit (LRMT) Red Line Rail spans 37 kilometres, running from Agbado in Ogun State to Marina in the heart of Lagos. This route shares the right-of-way with the Lagos–Kano Standard Gauge Railway.

2. Stations: Encompassing 13 stations, the Lagos Line Rail connects key points including Agbado, Iju, Agege, Ikeja, Murtala Muhammad International Airport, the Domestic Airport, Oshodi, Mushin, Yaba, Ebute Meta, Iddo, Ebute Ero, and Marina.

Discover 7 Facts About the New Lagos Red Line Rail (Phase 1)
Discover 7 Facts About the New Lagos Red Line Rail (Phase 1) (Credits: The Paper)

3. Phase 1: The recently commissioned Red Line’s initial phase comprises stations at Agbado, Iju, Agege, Ikeja, Oshodi, Mushin, Yaba, and Oyingbo, covering a distance of 27 kilometres from Agbado, Ogun State, to Oyingbo, Lagos.

4. Passenger Capacity: Projections indicate that the Lagos Red Line trains will operate 37 trips daily, accommodating over 500,000 passengers per day initially. Upon full operation, this number is expected to surpass 1 million passengers daily.

5. Reduced Travel Time: With the implementation of the Red Line, travel time between Oyingbo in Ogun State and Alagbado will be significantly reduced to a maximum of 35 minutes. Similarly, the journey from Agbado to Oyingbo will take just about 40 minutes, compared to over two hours by road.

6. Train Specifications: Unlike the Lagos Blue Line, which relies on electricity-powered trains, the Red Line system (LRMT) utilizes high-speed trains fueled by Automotive Gas Oil (AGO), commonly known as diesel.

7. Train Capacity and Amenities: Among the trains deployed along the route are the Talgo Series 8 trains, capable of carrying up to 1,000 passengers each. These trains boast modern amenities such as high-speed Wi-Fi and comfortable reclining seats, enhancing the commuting experience for passengers.


By Park-Shin Jung

I am Park-Shin Jung. I am a professional content writer for cars.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments