2024 GNCC Series Round 3: A Historic Milestone Achieved!

Published Categorized as Cars No Comments on 2024 GNCC Series Round 3: A Historic Milestone Achieved!

Round 3 of the 2024 Progressive Grand National Cross Country (GNCC) Series witnessed a historic moment. Josh Toth etched his name in the annals of GNCC lore by becoming the first rider to clinch victory from the second row.

Toth’s triumph in the XC2 class marked a significant milestone, while Johnny Girroir continued his dominance in the XC1 category, securing his third consecutive win.

In the thrilling Pro race, Ricky Russell stormed ahead, claiming the $250 Steel City Medical Center holeshot award as the riders charged into the first turn in Georgia.

What ensued was a fierce battle across the tacky Georgia clay, with the lead in the XC1 Open Pro division shifting with each lap. Steward Baylor led the charge on lap one, followed by Johnny Girroir on lap two, and then Ricky Russell on lap three.

Girroir reasserted his authority on lap four, ultimately maintaining his lead for the remaining two laps to clinch his third consecutive victory in the XC1 Open Pro class.

However, the XC2 250 Pro class, starting a row behind the XC1 Open Pro class, introduces time adjustments. This adjustment saw Josh Toth leading for a substantial part of the race.

2024 GNCC Series Round 3: A Historic Milestone Achieved!
2024 GNCC Series Round 3: A Historic Milestone Achieved! (Credits: Cycle News)

Toth even climbed to second overall at one point but settled for third overall physically, retaining his top position with the adjusted time. This historic feat in Georgia marked Toth as the first-ever overall winner from the XC2 250 Pro class.

Jordan Ashburn showcased remarkable resilience, battling back after narrowly missing the podium in the previous races. Ashburn’s persistent efforts secured him second place in the XC1 class and third overall for the day.

Steward Baylor also mounted a comeback after an early lead, eventually finishing third in the XC1 class and fourth overall. With these results, Baylor maintains his position as second in the points standings after three races.

Ricky Russell’s valiant effort earned him fourth place in XC1 and fifth overall, while Craig DeLong steadily climbed to secure fifth in XC1 and sixth overall. Dante Oliveira, starting from eleventh place, showcased his tenacity to finish sixth in the XC1 class and twelfth overall.

In the XC2 class, Grant Davis trailed Toth to secure second place, also earning him eighth overall. Liam Draper, the defending XC2 Champion, fought back to ninth overall and completed the podium in the XC2 250 Pro class.

Jhak Walker continued his dominance in the FMF XC3 125 Pro-Am class, claiming his second consecutive win of the season. Delmi Molina impressed with a fourth overall finish, showcasing the prowess of the Super Senior A riders.

The Youth bike race saw Caleb Wood clinch his third consecutive win in the YXC1 Super Mini Sr. class, with Travis Lentz claiming victory in the YXC2 Super Mini Jr. class.

The Specialized General GNCC also celebrated Casey Campbell as the AMSOIL Moto Hero, recognizing his service in the Air Force.

2024 GNCC Series Round 3: A Historic Milestone Achieved!
2024 GNCC Series Round 3: A Historic Milestone Achieved! (Credits: Cycle News)

The upcoming fourth round of the 2024 Progressive GNCC Racing Series promises further excitement in Society Hill, South Carolina, with the FMF Camp Coker Bullet GNCC at Moree’s Sportsman’s Preserve on March 23 and 24. For more information and tickets, visit the official GNCC website.

Don’t miss out on the exhilarating GNCC action, with Pro ATV and Motorcycle Racing available for free streaming on RacerTV.com throughout the season. Stay connected with GNCC Racing via social media for all the latest updates and highlights. Join the conversation using #GNCC.

In the XC1 Pro event results:

1. Jonathan Girroir (KTM)
2. Jordan Ashburn (GAS)
3. Steward Baylor (KAW)
4. Ricky Russell (YAM)
5. Craig DeLong (HQV)
6. Dante Oliveira (KTM)
7. Trevor Bollinger (HQV)
8. Grant Baylor (KAW)
9. Josh Strang (SHR)
10. Michael Witkowski (HON)

Overall National Championship Standings:

1. Jonathan Girroir (85)
2. Steward Baylor (64)
3. Jordan Ashburn (54)
4. Grant Davis (50)
5. Angus Riordan (42)
6. Josh Toth (36)
7. Evan Smith (30)
8. Ricky Russell (29)
9. Trevor Bollinger (29)
10. Grant Baylor (28)

In the XC2 250 Pro event results:

1. Josh Toth (HON)
2. Grant Davis (KTM)
3. Liam Draper (YAM)
4. Angus Riordan (KTM)
5. Brody Johnson (HON)
6. Cody Barnes (HON)
7. Jason Lipscomb (BET)
8. Toby Cleveland (HQV)
9. Jesse Ansley (KAW)
10. Ruy Barbosa (HON)

XC2 250 Pro Series Standings:

1. Angus Riordan (76)
2. Grant Davis (73)
3. Josh Toth (59)
4. Liam Draper (52)
5. Jesse Ansley (43)
6. Ruy Barbosa (37)
7. Brody Johnson (36)
8. Cody Barnes (34)
9. Toby Cleveland (34)
10. Tyler Palmer (34)


By Aaron

From Vintage Classics to Modern Marvels, Aaron is deeply immersed in the Automobile culture. He is from Kerala and a Man of Few words. He is Someone who loves to spend his free time reading automobile articles and watching TV Shows.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments