Overseas Drivers In NSW Given Deadline To Convert Licenses

Published Categorized as News No Comments on Overseas Drivers In NSW Given Deadline To Convert Licenses
Overseas Drivers In NSW Given Deadline To Convert Licenses
Overseas Drivers In NSW Given Deadline To Convert Licenses

The New South Wales (NSW) state government has issued an ultimatum to drivers residing in the state but still using foreign licenses: convert to local credentials within a specified timeframe or risk being barred from the roads.

This mandate particularly affects drivers from countries like China, India, Nepal, and Pakistan, who have been driving on NSW roads for more than nine months.

According to the NSW government, some foreign license holders have accumulated excessive demerit points, far exceeding the limit allowed for full NSW license holders.

In response, the government aims to close a loophole in the regulations introduced in 2023, which previously applied only to those who arrived in the state on or after July 1, 2023.

Under the new legislation, foreign license holders residing in NSW before July 1, 2023, must obtain a local license by March 1, 2025, or face suspension from driving.

John Graham, NSW Minister For Roads
John Graham, NSW Minister For Roads

Depending on their country of origin and its compatibility with the NSW road system, many of these drivers may need to undergo a practical driving test to obtain NSW driving credentials.

John Graham, NSW Minister for Roads, emphasized the importance of enforcing consistent rules for all drivers, stating, “This regulation change means no one will be able to drive around for years and years on end without coming under the NSW license system.” He underscored the government’s commitment to promoting road safety and ensuring compliance with driving regulations.

The new directive aligns NSW with Victoria and Tasmania, where overseas licenses must be converted within six months of the license holder becoming a permanent resident.

Similarly, foreign license holders in Queensland must convert their licenses within three months of residing in the state. This three-month timeframe also applies in the Australian Capital Territory, South Australia, Northern Territory, and Western Australia.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments