2024 IndyCar Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach: Everything You Need to Know

Published Categorized as News No Comments on 2024 IndyCar Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach: Everything You Need to Know
IndyCar Long Beach: Start times, how to watch on TV, entry list & more

The IndyCar race at Long Beach this weekend is set to feature 85 laps around the 1.968-mile temporary circuit. Scheduled from Friday, April 19, to Sunday, April 21, the main race will kick off at 3:45 pm ET. The track, known for its 11 turns, presents a challenging 167.28-mile journey for the drivers.

Teams participating in the event have been allotted six sets of primary tires and four sets of alternate tires for the weekend. Additionally, teams with rookie drivers can utilize an extra set of primary tires. During the race, teams are required to use at least one set of primary and one set of new alternate tires for a minimum of two laps.

Push-to-pass functionality adds an extra layer of strategy, offering drivers 200 seconds of total usage time with a maximum of 20 seconds per activation. Kyle Kirkwood, representing Andretti Global – Honda, is the defending race winner, while Colton Herta holds the qualifying lap record set in 2022.

2024 IndyCar Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach
2024 IndyCar Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach (Credits: Visit Long Beach)

Viewers can catch the race action on Sunday starting from 3:00 pm ET on the USA Network. The broadcast team includes Leigh Diffey as the play-by-play announcer, alongside analysts Townsend Bell and James Hinchcliffe. For those preferring streaming, all IndyCar practice sessions, qualifying rounds, and races will be available live on Peacock, NBC’s streaming service.

The event’s TV schedule encompasses various practice sessions and qualifying rounds leading up to the main race on Sunday. Fans can tune in to Peacock for live coverage of these sessions. On Sunday, the race begins at 3:45 pm ET and will be aired on USA Network, Peacock, and IndyCar Live.

For radio coverage, all IndyCar Series and Indy NXT practices and qualifying sessions can be heard live on network affiliates, SiriusXM 160, racecontrol.indycar.com, and the INDYCAR App. Mark Jaynes serves as the chief announcer, with analysts Davey Hamilton, Nick Yeoman, Jake Query, Ryan Myrehn, Joel Sebastianelli, and Jonathan Grace contributing to the commentary and reporting.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments